Showing posts with label SewinG. Show all posts
Showing posts with label SewinG. Show all posts

Friday, April 1, 2011

YOU Can Make a QuiLt...I have proof.


I have wanted to attempt the quilt for quite some time now, but had absolutely no idea where to begin with one.  Really, no idea.  I was scared.  So I put it off.  Over and over again.  But with a new little one coming I was feeling inspired to give it a go...somehow.  I've come to learn that the Internet can 'teach' you to do pretty much anything.  So I logged on and I searched and searched until I finally came across this, a beginning quilting series from Diary of a Quilter...she made me believe.  She's got ALL the steps spelled out for you in black and white, from what supplies to start with all the way to binding your quilt...and she's so easy to follow!  I was actually excited to get going!

So I went through my scraps...I didn't want to go out and purchase a bunch of fabric, just in case things went amiss.  I knew I wanted to use different textures and patterns since I would be using this as a little tummy time mat for baby.  So I got creative and pulled out some knit, minky, and even a ruffled pillow sham that I had left over from the nursery pillows.


I cut the back off the sham...


Then cut my squares with my rotary cutter...I used 5 inch squares.


Then it was time to lay out my squares in the pattern I thought worked.


Then following the instructions from Diary of a Quilter I started piecing my quilt and made rows with my squares...


And ironed my seams...the iron will become your very best friend during this project!


Next I sewed my rows together.


And it started to look like something that resembled an actual quilt.  I added my borders and batting and backing and really started to get excited because there were now layers to my quilt.  But the excitement came to a screeching halt when I learned that I had to baste my quilt.  Huh!?  I had never heard of such a thing!  Who knew this step existed?  And that there was spray and special basting pins involved.  Well, I was on a roll and wasn't about to throw in the towel at this point, so even with being ill prepared and without proper equipment...I rolled on, with regular old safety pins.  And I'll tell you, they worked just fine. 


Okay, so this is where I started to get a little nervous.  It was time to actually quilt...that is to say, SeW.  Preferably in straight lines.  And because I was a little lazy (and really anxious to finish) I totally skipped a step and didn't draw lines to mark where to sew...such a rebel.  I just eyeballed my way through, and do you know, some of the lines actually lined up!



So at this point I am jumping up and down that I might actually see this thing through.  All there was left to do was finish with a little binding.  So I cut my strips and pinned...


And I FINISHED that quilt!







So there it is...PrOof.
Because if I can do it, YOU certainly can too!




Thursday, March 31, 2011

Something for babY


For those of you who don't know, I'm getting ready to welcome my 3rd baby (first girL) in just about...well, any day now.  So as you can imagine there has been a lot of BabY on the BraIn as of late.  Especially once I realized (about a week ago) that I have not 'made' anything for her yet.  I also realized (about a week ago) that I was a little short in the blanket department...unless you count all the blue ones packed away in storage.  So in this instance what would any rational 9 month pregnant woman do...take herself to the local Target to purchase a few...probably.  But I'm a different kind of crazy and decided I would still try to make some instead.  So that I did. 


I found the fabric at Hobby Lobby.  Love it.  Also love the so very cozy minky...but must say it's a beast to sew!


I wanted to add a little something extra and turned this once felt flower Easter garland (also Hobby Lobby) into a little embellishment.


I probably should have prefaced this post by saying (and I know I've said it before...many times) I don't sew.  Never have had a lesson (unless you count me sitting on my grandma's lap at the age of 7 'helping' her sew up a few pillowcases).  I don't know the terms, don't know how to use a pattern, I'm really not quite sure if I even thread my sewing machine correctly...I'm totally winging it!  But nevertheless.  I don't think baby's even gonna notice.  What she will remember (hopefully) is that the blanket that she dragged around for years and years when she was little was made with love...crooked lines and all. 


Now call me cocky, but I finished the blanket and just couldn't stop myself.  I still had a bit of fabric left so I made a few burpies to match... which, by the way, turned out to be trickier than the blanket for what ever reason?!  It's a learning process...one that I may or may not ever tackle.




So the moral of the story for today is...go for it!  Try something new.  Something you might not have clue how to begin.  Make some mistakes.  Then try it again.  So what if the lines aren't 'PerfeCt'. That doesn't stop me.  And it shouldn't stop you either!

Stay tuned for my next installment...'CraZy Pregnant Lady That Doesn't Sew Makes a QuiLt'.  Ha!  Just the thoughts of it makes me laugh!!


Monday, March 14, 2011

LuckY LePrechauN haTs


So it turns out that my kindergartener's school is having their spirit week this week and on Thursday (St. Patrick's Day) they're supposed to wear their craziest hats to school, along with their green.  So when I saw this post at Kiki Creates...well, there was no question...


I had to make two for my little leprechauns. 


I had full intensions of doing a tutorial on how I made mine...but then got too excited to get them done and totally forgot to take pictures of the process. So I'll do my best to tell you what I did...

Supplies you'll need:

1 sheet of felt in all colors...*except green you'll need 3 sheets
Sewing machine
Thread (could use coordinating colors, I just used white)
Ruler
 Scissors or Rotary Cutter

Back around Christmas time I made a bunch of these hats for snowman kits and used the same idea when making these leprechaun hats.  Only difference was that I had to piece together the tube part (the different colors of felt) of the hat.


Because I used the precut sheets of felt I cut 3" inch strips (2 of each color) then stitched them to together end to end making one long strip of each color (about 24" inched in length).  Next I lined up my long strips in the color order I wanted, overlapping them about a 1/4 of an inch.  Then I pinned each stripe in place.  I liked the look of one raw edge showing on the outside of the hat, so I went with that rather than having the seams all on the inside.  See pic below to get a better idea of what I'm talking about...


After that I sewed each strip together and ended up with one rainbowed panel. This is what I used  to make the 'tube' of the hat.  From there I just followed this tutorial to finish it up.  Although, again because I used the small sheets of felt I did have to piece together the brim of the hat.  To do that I cut out two half circles and stitched them together.  Also I made the measurements a bit smaller to fit smaller heads. 

So, for the brim I cut a 12" circle (or two 6" half circles)
and then cut a 7 1/2" circle out of the middle of the brim (the 12" circle)
My pannel for the 'tube' of the hat measured 22" long
And for the top of the hat I cut a 7" circle.

I hope that makes sense to someone.  Next time I will definitely take pictures!  Much easier to explain with a picture.
Anyway, If you can follow my crappy instructions, you might end up with something that looks like this...


Last step is to stuff it with a luCkY littLe LePreChaun.


It's funny, when you place them on their heads they can't help but do a littLe iRiSh jiG.



 

Tuesday, January 25, 2011

pillows.


So the trim has yet to be put up (can't show you the walls we fancied up quite yet), but I couldn't wait to get the crib up and start putting things together a little.  I've been sewing a bit.  And by bit, I mean pillows...that's about as tricky as I get at this point.  So, NO.  I did not make the rest of the bedding...so wasn't ready to branch that far out!  Sewing still scares me quite a bit.  But pillows yes.  I can do pillows.


And before I get nasty emails/comments...they are purely for decorating purposes.  I will fully and entirely remove any suffocation device before placing baby in the crib.  Thanks for your concern, though.

Okay, so I've seen SO many cute pillow ideas floating around out there and have been dying to whip up a few.  Starting with this twisted flower pillow...


Now, I haven't got a tutorial of my own for you...cause really I just made it up as I went, that and...I'm so not qualified to be telling you such stories.  I did, though, find this tute (after the fact) that is probably a much more sophisticated way of doing it than my way.


And while I was there I also found this awesome tute on how to make pin-tucked pillows! So I had to try. And can I say...I'm impressed with myself?!


Never mind that I started with a too small piece of fabric and had to do a little piecing together (hence the ribbon and bow)...I still think it looks like I might have known what I was doing when I put it together :)



Now this one I came up with on my own...I do do that from time to time.  I've always loved pillows that tie on the side.  Everything looks better with a bow, doesn't it?  I also love the look of having a mismatching fabrics on front and back.  So I gave that all a go and came up with this...


Found this cute fabric at Hobby Lobby and thought the nursery rhyme theme was PerFeCt for a nursery!  So I didn't add anything to the front as not to distract from the Cat and the Fiddle and Humpty Dumpty.  How fancy to have a pillow that you can read!




 And finally.  My attempt at a 'stuffed animal'.  Certainly not my best work.  But it was fun to attempt anyway.  It took a bit more effort than I was hoping for and I ended up improvising quite a bit (hot glue!).  Maybe next time I'll look for a pattern rather than trying to fib my way through.


Now let me tell you about the bumper pad and crib skirt.  I bought this set about a year ago (Target clearance).  Are you doing the math?  Yes.  Before there was a baby...and way before it was known to be a girl.  I know I'm crazy like that...let me explain.  $8.00.  Yes sir.  I paid $8.00 for the bumper and $8.00 for the crib skirt!  For a grand total of...$16.00.  And in looking at bedding sets over the last few, I've realized that's quite a DeAL.  I wasn't sure how I was going to make it work, because it wasn't exactly what I was going for.  But again, $16.00.  I figured I would make it work.  Adding the pillows and mixing and matching the fabrics has helped to make the look I was more going for come together.


I do have a few things I would still like to do before we're finished up.  For instance...see that big blue ruffled pillow in the back?  Didn't make it, but found a set of two at TJ Maxx for about $10.  I have BiG plans for a quilt for the second sham.  We'll see if I have to break out the hot glue for that one.  Wish me luck.



NoTe:  As I'm getting ready to post this I'm thinking to myself...I wonder if there is really AnYOne out there who could possibly care this much about stinking pillows.  Really quite a lengthy post on such a subject.  I apologize.